If you are convicted of a DWI in Kansas City, you may be required to attend DWI Court. This court-ordered program is designed to provide treatment services for individuals that are repeat offenders of driving while under the influence and have addiction issues with alcohol.
How Does DWI Court Work If I Get A DWI In Kansas City?
Missouri’s DWI Court was enacted as part of the state’s legislature Bill 1695. The program established several of these treatment courts throughout Missouri in 2010 and used these courts to help repeat offenders, and high blood alcohol level (BAC) offenders receive treatment. These courts were created to be a cost-effective solution and provide a rigorous program for offenders to graduate from.
The idea behind DWI Court is to offer alcohol treatment to repeat and excessively high BAC level offenders versus incarceration for drunk driving in Kansas City. While in many instances these treatment programs are ordered by a judge, you can be admitted to the program at your request, even if you are currently on probation for another offense.
Am I Eligible For DWI Court If I Get A DWI In Kansas City?
The length of the DWI court program may extend from 12 to 24 months. The length of your treatment program is determined by your initial substance abuse assessment. This includes an interview with an attending probation officer and the Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) screening. The results of this assessment will be provided to your DWI attorney and sent directly to your sentencing judge with a recommendation from the court on what your treatment program should consist of.
Some of the criteria the treatment court takes into consideration for enrollment in the program include:
- Being charged with an alcohol offense
- Alcohol abuse motivated the charge
- Agreement to participate in the program
- Understands the demands and requirements of the treatment
- Pays all DWI treatment fees as well as court fees and alcohol testing
- Charges were nonviolent, in this offense
- No history of violence
- Is not on parole or probation outside the county
- Resides in county of the treatment court
- Weapons were not involved in the DWI charge
- Mental health history is not present
What Does DWI Court Cost For A DWI In Kansas City?
Participating and paying for the treatment program for your DWI in Kansas City is your responsibility. It is provided on a self-pay basis directly to the treatment provider that is treating you for your alcohol addiction. Costs are determined by a minimum of months of treatment with additional costs being incurred if you need additional assistance recovery. Costs can also increase if your recovery process is delayed, suspended or sanctioned.
There are four phases to the DWI court program that are paid by a drunk driving offender. You will be required to pay approximately $1200 or more if you decide or are ordered to attend this treatment program for the SATOP, Clinical Intervention Program, and Weekend Intervention Program
In addition, a Secure Continuous Remote Alcohol Monitor (SCRAM) ankle bracelet will be placed on your body for monitoring. The cost is approximately $140, and you will be required to wear it for a minimum of 30 days. You will also have to undergo urine testing and pay a co-pay of $10 per visit. Also, a $30 per month DWI Court fee will be assessed for 15 months or more, totaling $450.
What Are The DWI Court Graduation Requirement For A DWI In Kansas City?
The DWI Court treatment program can be challenging for some to complete. There are many requirements that have to be satisfied in order to graduate from the program. Some of the steps that you will have to complete in order to be released from treatment include:
- Creation of an aftercare plan
- At least six months of sobriety after graduation of the program
- Consist meetings with a probation officer
- Regular appointments with a treatment provider
- Comply with requirements of treatment plan
- Housing that is considered stable
- An employment position that is stable
- Participation and completion of required community service of
- Attendance at an approved community support group
- Support of a sponsor
- Community involvement
- Completion of the Victim Impact group and written assignment
- All treatment and court fees paid in full
Can I Be Terminated From DWI Court For A DWI In Kansas City?
The authorities of the DWI court have the ability to terminate your participation in the program if you commit a violent act that is against the law while in treatment for your DWI in Kansas City. The release from the program may be involuntary and without your consent.
You may also be removed from the program if you violate one of the eligibility requirements while you are in treatment. The DWI Court Team may also terminate your participation for any reason that they deem necessary.
Can I Quit DWI Court For A DWI In Kansas City?
You have the right to drop out of the program at any time for any reason. You will need to consult with a DWI attorney and provide written notification to the judge. Additional sentencing may be handed down for you to complete in order to satisfy the requirement of your DWI in Kansas City.
Will I Have To Attend DWI Court For DWI In Kansas City?
Depending on where you receive your DWI in Kansas City, you may or may not be ordered to attend a DWI Court. Not all counties within Missouri have a DWI Court. In this metropolitan area, in particular, it is determined by what county the jurisdiction of your drunk driving offense took place if you will have to attend the program.
If you have been arrested for a DWI in Kansas City, you need the assistance of the professional attorneys at Cornerstone Law Firm. We can help you determine what your legal rights are and if DWI court is a possibility for your case. Contact us today!